When did I realize where my testimony began? A Tribute to Primary Music

ldsclipart.com

Guest author Emma Lu strikes again! She is a wife, mother, grandmother, writer and music therapist who is inspired by children.

Fond memories take me back to my Primary days. Three particular songs stand out in building my fledgling testimony.

I recall the genuine joy I felt as the piano sounded the first note of the beloved song “Give, Said the Little Stream” (Children’s Song Book, 236). I sang the words with great gusto as if I were a joyful bird singing in the early morning hours. The third verse stirred my heart: ”Give then as Jesus gives; there is something all can give.” I wondered, how I could give as Jesus gave? Because of the song, even though I was very young, I became aware of honest service. I began giving in ways to help my family and friends. Over the years, the message of the wonderful song has spread to compassionate ministering, a service of gratitude. Jesus said, “It is more blessed to give than to receive” (Acts 20:35). Thanks to the Primary pianists and choristers who, so many years ago, opened my heart to serve as Jesus does.

Another song teaching me a great truth was “Teach Me to Walk in the Light” (CS, 177). The day I first heard the stirring melody, I felt I had found a precious jewel. I recall my Primary chorister saying, “Heavenly Father loves you and wants to hear about what you are thinking and what is happening in your life. He will help you with your schoolwork and any problems you have.” Her words filtered into my soul. I felt the need for Heavenly Father’s help to guide me to do what’s right; it was like a devouring fire’s flame racing to consume a forest. I felt a warm and loving feeling from Heavenly Father when I talked to him. My diligent Primary chorister truly awoke the profound need for prayer and faith to enhance my life. I give thanks for the moving words and musical ability of a caring chorister and the pianist who played with an angel’s touch. From D&C 25:12 we read: “For my soul delighteth in the song of the heart; yea, the song of the righteous is a prayer unto me, and it shall be answered with a blessing upon their heads.” I bear testimony to the truth of this scripture, for I learned of it in Primary.

Another beloved song leads me to a deep and inspiring study of the life and teachings of Jesus, titled “Tell Me the Stories of Jesus” (CS, 57). I think of the song and often hum the tune as we sang it in Primary. Today I study His life, His parables, “Be-Attitudes,” and the beautiful, inspiring Sermon on the Mount. I know the teachings we receive when we are young matter and set the stage for greater achievements.

To the children (and adults) of today, Elder Dieter F. Uchtdorf stated, “Trust [that God] will make more of you than you can possibly make of yourself” (from “In expanded devotional, Elder Uchtdorf guides LDS young single adults in ‘adventure of mortality’”, by Marianne Holman Prescott, Deseret News, Jan 14, 2018)

I thank my captivating Primary choristers and pianists for their faithful service and reaching into my searching soul to teach me songs of inspiration. I now realize my sacred testimony was awakened in Primary. The wonderful workers in Primary stand on a pedestal!

Leave a comment

Filed under Music

What did you think?