I Choose the Right When I am Baptized and Confirmed a Member of the Church–May Sharing Time ideas!

In the month of May we will be teaching the Primary children about the first principles and ordinances of the gospel: 1) Faith to follow Jesus Christ 2) Forgiveness through repentance 3) Baptism by immersion like Jesus showed us 4) The gift of the Holy Ghost and 5) Renewing our baptismal covenants by taking the Sacrament each week.

I still love this Baptismal Promises sharing time lesson I posted a few years ago.  This is a simple lesson with printables to teach about the promises we make at Baptism and each week when we take the Sacrament.  I think we often use words that are very familiar to the adults at church and forget that the kids really don’t have a clue what we mean when we say “covenants” “ordinances” “principles” “Atonement”.  This lesson is a great way to break down the concept of covenants.  When I teach it I introduce the word covenant so they can become familiar with it but I mostly use the words “big promise” to describe what a covenant is.

On week 2 of the month you could teach about these Baptismal promises and then on week 4 teach the same promises, review the idea that a covenant is a “big promise” and review all the things we promise at baptism and then renew each week when we take the Sacrament.  The schedule of this month’s theme is so perfect for repetition and giving the children a chance to absorb these important principles.  If we’re going to make a “big promise” with out Heavenly Father I think we better understand what we’re promising.

And as always, since I am a huge believer in the power of music and how much better we remember concepts when taught through music, there are so many fantastic Primary songs about these topics.  Songs always teach better than too much talking!

I’m Trying to Be Like Jesus (CS 78)

Faith (CS 96)

Baptism (CS 100)

When Jesus Christ Was Baptized (CS 102)

When I am Baptized (CS 103)

The Holy Ghost (CS 105)

The Still Small Voice (CS 106)

Listen, Listen (CS 107)

The Sacrament (CS 72)

I Feel My Savior’s Love (CS 74)

~Michelle

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Lesson, Music, Sharing Time

What did you think?

