Overheard in Primary: a lesson that backFIRED!

lds.org - Jesus Blesses the Nephite Children, by Robert T. Barrett; GAK 322

lds.org – Jesus Blesses the Nephite Children, by Robert T. Barrett; GAK 322

Today’s guest author is Valerie, wife, mother of 7, grandmother of 13, who loves to cook, quilt, read, serve in the temple, and teach Primary! 
 
I teach 4-5 year olds in Primary — they are so cute! I taught a lesson about how Jesus loves each child and wants to bless each of us, His children. I told them the story from 3 Nephi 17 about Jesus blessing the Nephite children. My Primary kids said it did NOT sound like a good thing to be surrounded by angels and fire and they DID NOT want that to happen to them!  So funny! I told them it was a special fire that didn’t burn them and the angels were friendly but they still weren’t buying it!
Have any of your Primary children had the same reaction? Tell us how you handled it in the comments below!
2 Comments

Filed under Lesson, Overheard in Primary

2 responses to “Overheard in Primary: a lesson that backFIRED!

  1. sandy catalano

    So typical. I LOVE teaching the 4-5-year-olds. They say what is on their minds. Last week I taught a lesson on Lehi’s tree of life. I had only one primary child due to the holiday weekend where everyone else was on vacation.
    He said we should go outside and I should teach the lesson sitting under a tree. So, he sat on a tree limb as I taught the lesson.
    Pure happiness.

What did you think?

