Primary Motto: Instilling “Faith in God” message each week

Painting by Del Parson, text from Faith in God booklet inside front cover

Text from “Faith in God” booklet, inside front cover. Painting by Del Parson.

Guest author Cathy is a ward Primary president who is employed in her dream job as stay-at-home mom.  She has enjoyed serving in Primary in Australia and the Philippines as her family has moved around the world with her husband’s job. She writes:

As a recently called Primary president, I was talking with a friend who had many years experience in the calling. I was looking for wisdom about how to make a difference in the lives of the young children of God that I was called to love and teach.  She shared with me something that she had done that she felt was very successful.  She had been reading through the Faith in God pamphlet and noticed the short motto inside the front cover:

I am a child of God.
I know Heavenly Father loves me, and I love Him.
I can pray to Heavenly Father anytime, anywhere.
I am trying to remember and follow Jesus Christ.

She said to me, “If that is all those Primary kids learned from coming to Primary, that would be enough.”  And so they started reciting this theme each week during their opening exercises.

That really struck me.  Four simple sentences – but such important principles that can impact our every decision and shape our entire life.  Just as each week the Young Women around the world “stand for truth and righteousness” and together recite the Young Women’s theme, I knew I wanted to make this motto part of our weekly Primary routine.  Even as an adult, well out of my young woman years, I can still recite that theme and list off those values. I know even more clearly now the way that foundation influenced me, knowing that I am a daughter of God and that He loves me and I love Him.  I wanted to give a similar foundation to my Primary children, even at the young age of three!

I requested the help of my talented friend Rachel to come up with something visual that we could hold each week for the children to read and memorize this Primary theme.  Along with the words, she incorporated a sweet painting by Del Parson of our loving Savior surrounded by children (see above).  We now have the 11×17 sized theme printed and framed to remain in our Primary.  The children are excited about it and I hope that the Spirit touches their hearts as we say these words together each week.

-Cathy

Leave a comment

Filed under Opening Exercises, Sharing Time

What did you think?

