Changing the world one smile at a time!

It had been a hectic Sunday morning.  My husband had an early Stake meeting which meant I was juggling 4 kids by myself, including 6-month-old twins, in an attempt to get everyone to 9 am church on time!  No small feat.

We finally made it to the chapel and I exhaled a sigh of relief as we settled into the pew.  I was trying to wash away the stresses of the morning by focusing on the hymn and the prayer in preparation for the Sacrament.  My 5-year-old daughter was sitting next to me drawing quietly.  I noticed she was drawing a sad face, adding tears for dramatic detail.  I looked at her with a questioning expression.  She replied, “That’s me.  I don’t like church.” A wave of sadness came over me as I gave her a small encouraging smile and a pat on the back.  Before I could even begin to think about this interaction my daugher’s face lit up and she gave her biggest, brightest smile to someone a few rows behind us.  This was a dramatic turn around!  I was curious to know who sparked this excitement in her.  I leaned down and asked her, “Who are you smiling at?” “Sister M., my teacher!”  Sisiter M. is her new Primary Chorister.

I leaned over and whispered, “You wouldn’t know her if we didn’t come to church.  Can you draw a face about how you feel about her?”  She proceeded to draw a smiley face and then got a fresh piece of paper out.  She drew a picture of herself and Sister M. holding hands, both with big smiles on their faces.

IMG_20140914_150919144 copy (1)

The power of a loving smile is immeasurable.  The power of a beloved Primary leader changes lives.

~Michelle

1 Comment

Filed under Life Lessons, Music, Reaching the One

One response to “Changing the world one smile at a time!

  1. Bonnie Goodrich-Wilcoxson

    Page not found. I hate those words! B

What did you think?

