Primary Children Looking Toward the Temple

My children are fascinated by the temple and love to visit the grounds and walk around.  Recently our ward had a special Primary temple trip and the children not only toured the grounds but also went inside the temple to the waiting room.  This was so inspiring for them because they knew they were preparing to go inside the temple when they were 12, but didn’t know that you could at least go into the waiting room.  Just entering the front doors of the temple was  an exciting adventure for them.  And I think it was a motivation for them to keep preparing for the day when they turn 12 and can go to the temple to take part in baptisms.

Madrid Spain Temple. photo compliments of ldschurchtemples.com and Angel Jose Gomez Garcia

Over the years I’ve attempted to explain how special and sacred the temple is and why we go to the temple, to help my kids want to go themselves.  I don’t think I’ve ever done a great job at bringing the temple to life through my explanation attempts.

I was so excited when I stumbled upon a new video the church has created that illustrates the sacred, special nature of our temples through simple descriptions and beautiful videography.  This video shows the inside and outside of many different temples while one of the Church leaders describes the different rooms and their purposes.  He turns to scripture to explain why our temples are the way they are;  he does a fantastic job expressing his reverence for the temple in a clear, easily understood manner.

My 4-year-old and I sat mesmerized through the entire 15 minute video and it was then that I realized what a great media tool this video could be for our Primary children.  My daughter sat beside me in awe saying, “I’ve never been inside the temple.”  And yet, she now has a better idea and understanding of what she can look forward to when she is old enough to enter the temple.

Watch it here: Mormon Temples: A Conversation with a Church Leader

~Michelle

1 Comment

Filed under Parent Involvement

One response to “Primary Children Looking Toward the Temple

  1. Pingback: The Temple Is a House of God | Primary in Zion

What did you think?

