Children Receiving Revelation – How can we prepare them?

Do you ever feel like you are so bogged down with behavior issues and remembering whose birthdays are this week, and navigating classrooms of children whose teacher didn’t show up that there’s no time to focus on feeling and recognizing the Spirit in Primary? If so, you’re not alone.

There’s a lot of “to do’s” that need to be done in Primary but we need to make sure that we are asking ourselves, “What am I going to say or teach or do today to help the children feel the Spirit?”

photo courtesy of lds.org

I am constantly battling this inner struggle myself with my own children each day.  I find it fairly manageable to set a routine that incorporates the necessities of life like homework, dinner and bedtime.  But how and where do I add “feel and recognize the Spirit” to my list?  That’s a bit trickier.

The same goes for Primary.  You can plan to the best of your ability but you never know what you will confront each Sunday and always have to be flexible.  Often plans don’t go the way you imagined.

Recently I stumbled upon this scripture in the Book of Mormon:

“And now, he imparteth his word by angels unto men, yea, not only men but women also.  Now this is not all; little children do have words given unto them many times, which confound the wise and the learned.” Alma 32:23

These words made me stop and truly consider the depth of possibility in each of the children in my care.  I thought about each of the children I see in Primary.  I thought about the many Sharing Time lessons and Singing Times and interactions I’ve had with Primary children and I wondered if I had done my part to prepare these children to hear the words ministered to them by angels, words amazing enough to “confound the wise and learned.”

Reading this one verse made me realize how essential it is that we be constantly seeking guidance in how we can prepare these children.  It is a bit of an overwhelming task. When I think about it on my own accord I start to panic.  When I pray about it with sincerity I feel inspired!  I know we can’t do this all on our own.  But I also know that with God it is possible. He is waiting for us to seek His guidance in this very sacred work with His beloved little children.

How do you help the children in your Primary prepare to feel the Spirit each week?

~Michelle

1 Comment

Filed under Life Lessons, Scriptures

One response to “Children Receiving Revelation – How can we prepare them?

  1. Pingback: Faith and Miracles: A child’s prayer can save a (duck’s) life | Primary in Zion

What did you think?

