Children giving Primary talks – how parents can help

What a church! Allowing little children to teach, share their feelings, practice public speaking, bear testimony? It feels like a literal fulfillment of Isaiah 11:6: “And a little child shall lead them.”

giving a talk in church

photo courtesy of ldsclipart.com

Giving a talk is a wonderful opportunity for children to study a gospel topic, ponder their own feelings, and be guided by the Spirit as they prepare and deliver their talk. (Read about Pres. Monson’s first talk.)

Start by asking for God’s help in prayer. Next, here’s a simple, 3-step way to structure a talk that kids can remember:

1) What does GOD say? A scripture starts a talk with a solid foundation. Teach children how to use the Topical Guide or search lds.org for a scripture that speaks to them.

2) What do OTHERS say? What story illustrates this principle? Children might think of a story from the scriptures, the Friend, or a General Conference talk that demonstrates the principle.

3) What do I feel? What does this principle mean to me? How can I live it in my own life? What experiences have I had with this principle?

For example, a child’s talk about service might sound like this:

“Today my talk is about service. Service means helping others. The scriptures say, “When ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.” (Mosiah 2:17) That means when we are helping others, we are doing what God wants us to do. (WHAT GOD SAYS)

“I’d like to tell a story about a girl who helped someone at school. ‘One day at recess, Isabella saw a girl who was crying because someone had said something mean to her. Isabella felt bad for the girl and walked over to comfort her. “Would you like to play with me?” she asked the girl. That day Isabella served with her heart. She followed the example of Jesus Christ and showed love to someone in need.’ Friend, September 2013.  (WHAT OTHERS SAY)

“I feel good when I serve others. Once I wrote a letter to a missionary and told her that I was praying for her to find people to teach. She wrote me back. She told me her letter made her really happy. She didn’t know that children back home remembered her and prayed for her. I’m going to keep trying to help other people, in my family, in my neighborhood, at school, and at church. I know God blesses us when we help others, because He wants us to be kind to all His children. (WHAT I FEEL)

“In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.”

How do you coach children to give talks?

~Marci

Leave a comment

Filed under Opening Exercises, Parent Involvement, Reaching the One, Sharing Time

What did you think?

