Actively Getting Children Into the Scriptures in Primary: sharing time ideas!

Even in Junior Primary, I love it when children get into the scriptures themselves. It’s perfectly fine to read a scripture off a poster or wordstrip, or recite a quote. But at least sometimes, I like the children to see that this thought or story or idea comes from the scriptures – God’s word. It’s like the scriptures themselves are a visual aid, reminding the children that these particular words are true and really important. And I found a way to make it interactive: a hot pink bookmark.

scripture study full

ldsclipart.com

I place the bookmark in my scriptures ahead of time. (The pink bookmark is one of several I keep in my scriptures all the time, so there are actually some decoys!) I invite a child to find my pink bookmark, then open to that page. A Senior Primary child can read the scripture as well. Then I ask all the children to repeat the short scripture after me.

For a lesson about creation, you might ask, “What did God think of everything that was created?”  Then read the last verse in the first chapter of Genesis (1:31): “And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good.”

To teach about the fall, read 2 Nephi 2:25: “Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy.”

For a lesson about gaining a body, after singing “I Have Two Ears,” (Children’s Songbook, 269), read Matthew 11:15: “He that hath ears to hear, let him hear.”

When teaching about keeping the commandments, read John 14:15: “If ye love me, keep my commandments.”

For a lesson about temples, read Psalms 122:1 – “I was glad when they said unto me, Let us go into the house of the Lord.”

When telling the story of Daniel and the lion’s den, while you have their attention from the drama of the story, read the climax directly from Daniel 6:22: “My God hath sent his angel, and hath shut the lion’s mouths, that they have not hurt me.”

The scriptures — you’re never too young to start.

-Marci

Related posts: Scriptures in Primary: Raising the Bar and Addressing the Boredom Challenge

“Wise Man and Foolish Man”: Digging Deeper

5 Comments

Filed under Lesson, Scriptures, Sharing Time

5 responses to “Actively Getting Children Into the Scriptures in Primary: sharing time ideas!

  1. Pingback: “Wise Man and Foolish Man” – Digging Deeper | Primary in Zion

  2. Pingback: Scriptures in Primary: Raising the Bar and Addressing the Boredom Challenge | Primary in Zion

  3. Pingback: A Primary Activity to help meet spiritual goals: scriptures, service and fun! | Primary in Zion

  4. Pingback: January 2016 Sharing Time: “The Scriptures Are the Word of God” | Primary in Zion

  5. Pingback: Getting Children to Open – not just bring – Their Scriptures | Primary in Zion

What did you think?

