“Let’s go get one right now!”

We were trying our best to have a meaningful experience during General Conference.  My husband was sitting with our 5-year-old son watching conference via the internet in our home while I put my 1-year-old down for a nap.  Upon my return there was a flurry of excitement!

They were listening to President Monson speak about temples:

“To you parents of young children, may I share with you some sage advice from President Spencer W. Kimball. Said he:

‘It would be a fine thing if … parents would have in every bedroom in their house a picture of the temple so [their children] from the time [they are] infant[s] could look at the picture every day [until] it becomes a part of [their lives]. When [they reach] the age that [they need] to make [the] very important decision [concerning going to the temple], it will have already been made.’

Our children sing in Primary:

I love to see the temple.
I’ll go inside someday.
I’ll cov’nant with my Father;
I’ll promise to obey.

I plead with you to teach your children of the temple’s importance.”

Miraculously my son’s ears perked up.  As he listened he realized he did not have a picture of a temple in his room.  “Let’s go get one right now!”  He pleaded emphatically.  How does a parent respond to that request?   “Ok!  Let’s go get one!”  We were just as excited as he was, but the only problem was we didn’t happen to have a picture of the temple.

We can’t let this moment pass, we thought, because chances are, we’ll forget to do it later.  Ah-ha!  I had an idea!  I went to my temple bag and searched through the side pocket where I was pretty certain I had tucked a Temple Schedule.  Sure enough, it was still there, and the picture of the temple on front would be just the thing.  We showed our son and he was excited.  We grabbed some tape and went to his room.  He decided he wanted to put it right next to his bed.  We taped it up and there it is to this day.

We could have purchased a bigger, nicer, possibly framed photo of the temple, but I think the moment would have been lost.  My son still remembers that experience when we talk about the temple and the importance of following the Prophet’s counsel.

~Michelle

The Holy Temple–a Beacon to the World, Thomas S. Monson 

2 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons

2 responses to ““Let’s go get one right now!”

  1. Pingback: Follow the Prophet=Come Unto Christ: October 2015 Sharing Time Lesson ideas and application | Primary in Zion

  2. Pingback: The Temple Is a House of God | Primary in Zion

What did you think?

