Stop and Smell the Gingerbread

I built a gingerbread house with my children last week.

The first step was to cement the house walls to the base and hold securely to give the icing time to solidify.  Next, cement the roof pieces to the walls with some more icing.  This step was very defining.  We added the 2 roof pieces and held them together for a few minutes and when we thought we were set we let go!

Ta-da!

It was supposed to be the big unveiling of the lovely house we just built but instead it was the collapsing of the house we clearly hadn’t built well at all.  The whole thing collapsed right before our eyes.  My 5-year-old gasped in horror.  My 2-year-old shrieked.  I just sat there dumbfounded and wondered what happened.  I followed the instructions step by step, putting the pieces together in the correct order.

It didn’t take me long to realize I had been working quickly without enough patience.   I hate to admit it, but I was trying to sqeeze this project in to appease my children’s constant pleas when I actually had a number of things on my own agenda that I wanted to do.  And admittedly, I was not being patient, thinking I could build the base of the house with less time and effort.  Clearly, it didn’t work.

How often do we try to hurry things along to the detriment of the overall outcome?  I find myself doing this all the time.  Stop and breathe, Michelle.  Unplug.  Relax.  Live in the now.  Look at your children.  Enjoy this moment, you will never get it back.

I can certainly apply this to my personal life.  It can also apply to Primary.

I like to plan, do you?  I like to have things tidy and organized and carefully thought through.  Add children to the mix, and tidy, organized and carefully planned don’t always work.  What happens when I am teaching a lesson and a child asks a pertinent yet unexpected question?  Do I take the time to stop?  Answer the question thoughtfully?  Look at the children, feel the Spirit?  Enjoy the moment?  Or do I find my spot in my lesson plan and continue onward telling myself that I need to get through this material to feel fulfilled?

Funny how building a gingerbread house can make you stop and think.  What has made you stop and think this week?  We’d love to hear your stories!

~Michelle

You’ll be happy to know we finally got it right!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life Lessons

What did you think?

